Howard University
College of Arts and Sciences
Department of English
Home
Contact Us
Undergraduate   Graduate   Faculty & Staff    News & Events    Publications    Writing Center    About

Faculty & Staff

Staff

Williams, Dana A.
Chair
Professor of English
Graduate faculty

d_williams@howard.edu

Contact Us

Howard University
Department of English
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Locke Hall, Room 248
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: 202-806-6730
Fax: 202-806-6708


View Larger Map

Hardy, Tanya
Administrative Assistant
thardy@howard.edu

Top

Faculty

Professors

Arana, Victoria
Professor Emeritus
rvarana@archeform.com

 

Dance, Daryl
Visiting Sterling Allen Brown Professor of English and the Humanities, Spring 2013
daryl.dance@howard.edu

270 Locke Hall
202-806-6114
Forbes, Curdella
Professor of English*
kim_ani2000@hotmail.com
214 Locke Hall
202-806-7756
  Hawthorne, Evelyn J.
Professor Emeritus
ehawthorne@howard.edu
214 Locke Hall
202-806-4221

Jordan, Jennifer
Associate Professor
j.a.jordon@verizon.net

356 Locke Hall
202-806-5215
Kamwangamalu, Nkonko
Professor of English and Linguistics*
nkamwangamalu@howard.edu
232 Locke Hall
202-806-7453
Kelly, Ann Cline
Professor of English*
akelly@howard.edu
356 Locke Hall
202-806-5214

Medina, Tony
Professor
tmedina@howard.edu

112 Locke Hall
202-806-6770

Redd, Teresa
Professor
tredd@howard.edu

244 ISAS
202-806-0870
Shannon, Sandra G.
Professor of English*

sshannon@howard.edu
230 Locke Hall
202-806-5443

Traylor, Eleanor W.
Professor of English
*
etraylor@howard.edu

216 Locke Hall
202-806-7754
  Tsomondo, Thorell
Professor of English*
ttsomondo@howard.edu
218 Locke Hall
202-806-7753
Williams, Dana A.
Professor of English*

d_williams@howard.edu
246 Locke Hall
202-806-5371

Graduate Faculty

Top

Associate Professors

DeGout, Yasmin Y.
Associate Professor of English*
yasminhu@aol.com
212 Locke Hall
202-806-5611
Hampton, Gregory
Associate Professor of English*
ghampton@howard.edu
212 Locke Hall
202-806-5611
Jones, Meta D.
Associate Professor
meta.jones@howard.edu
112 Locke Hall
202-806-6770
 

Keil, James
Associate Professor
jimkeil@verizon.net

220 Locke Hall
202-806-7749
  Singer, Marc
Associate Professor of English*
msinger@howard.edu
206 Locke Hall
202-806-6773
Taylor, Douglas
Associate Professor of English*
detaylor@howard.edu
212 Locke Hall
202-806-5611
Tovares, Alla V.
Associate Professor of English and Linguistics*
atovares@howard.edu
232 Locke Hall
202-806-7453

Graduate Faculty

Top

Assistant Professors

  Bergen, Kristin
Assistant Professor of English*
kbergen@howard.edu
220 Locke Hall
202-806-7749
  Brown, Jarrett
Assistant Professor
 
  Green, David
Assistant Professor
 
  Oh, Elisa
Assistant Professor of English*
EOh@howard.edu
218 Locke Hall
202-806-5470
  Reddy, Sheshalatha
Assistant Professor of English*
206 Locke Hall
202-806-6773
  Shinn, Christopher
Assistant Professor*
cshinn@howard.edu
P-4 Locke Hall
202-806-6730
  Kirlew, Shauna
Assistant Professor
shauna.kirlew@howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
202-806-5976

Graduate Faculty

Top

Lecturers/ Master Instructors

  Barksdale, Antoinette
blaire2004@comcast.net
202-806-6730
  Doku, Samuel
dokusamuel@gmail.com
B-16 Locke Hall
202-806-6235
  Ellison, Kitty
Master Instructor
kittyellison@aol.com
221 Locke Hall
202-806-6353
  Esters, Andre
estersandre@yahoo.com
B-16 Locke Hall
202-806-6235
  Grathwol, Kathleen*
kathleen.grathwol@gmail.com
234 Locke Hall
202-806-5370
  Harrell, William
Master Instructor
wharrell@howard.edu
322 Locke Hall/
100 Locke Hall
202-806-4607/
806-4100
  Henry, Lorraine
Master Instructor
lhenry@howard.edu
316 Locke Hall
202-806-6776
  Jones, Clinton
ccjones@howard.edu
202-806-6730
  Mahadevan, Thennilapuram
Master Instructor
tmahadevan@howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
202-806-6235
  Morris, Horace
Master Instructor
hamorris2@howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
202-806-6353
  Noone, Patricia
Master Instructor
pnoone@howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
202-806-6235
  Sandosharaj, Alis*
sandosharaj@gmail.com
234 Locke Hall
202-806-5370
  Shuttlesworth, Carolyn
cshuttlesworth@howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
202-806-6235
  Todd, Bridget
bridget.todd@howard.edu
225 Locke Hall
202-865-0266
  Vilato, Claudia*
claudia.vilato@howard.edu
234 Locke Hall 
202-806-7750 
  Walsh, Gertrude*
gertude.walsh@howard.edu
225 Locke Hall
202-865-0269 
  White, Yvette
ycwhite@howard.edu
322 Locke Hall
202-806-5218
  Winston, Dennis
dennis.winston@howard.edu
225 Locke Hall
202-865-0269
  Winter, Daria
dwinter@Howard.edu
B-16 Locke Hall
202-806-6235

ESL Faculty

Top

 

 

 
 

The Writing Center