© COAS Howard University
All rights reserved
2441 Sixth Street NW
Washington, DC 20059
(202) 806-6700
Contact COAS
WWW Disclaimer

- student resources -
Important Contacts
College of Arts and Sciences
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Locke Hall, Suite 101
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6700
Fax: (202) 234-3947
We've got a new look! Find answers and send us feedback here
Report issues with COAS facilities

Important College of Arts and Sciences Contacts

Chair/ Director/ Personnel Email Address/ Phone/ Fax
Office of the Dean  
Segun Gbadegesin, Ph.D., Interim Dean sgbadegesin@howard.edu
Locke Hall, Suite 101
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6700
Fax: (202) 234-3947
Alma Kemp,
Administrative Assistant
akemp@howard.edu
Crystal Donaldson,
Administrative Assistant
cdonaldson@howard.edu
Corrdell D. Brown,
Administrative Assistant
cordell.brown@howard.edu
Division of Fine Arts  
Gwendolyn H. Everett, Ph.D.,
Associate Dean
geverett@howard.edu Lulu Vere Childers Hall
2455 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-7040
Fax: (202) 806-6503
Odessa Scott,
Administrative Assistant
oscott@howard.edu

Thelma Paige-Deneal,
Academic Coordinator
tpaige-deneal@howard.edu
Division of Humanities  
    Locke Hall, Suite 101
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6700
Fax: (202) 234-3947
Division of Natural Sciences  
Robert Catchings, Ph.D.,
Associate Dean
rcatchings@howard.edu Locke Hall, Suite 101
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6700
Fax: (202) 234-3947
Division of Social Sciences  
Terri Adams, Ph.D.,
Interim Associate Dean
tadams-fuller@howard.edu Locke Hall, Suite 101
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6700
Fax: (202) 234-3947
   
Audio/Visual Services  
Teylama "Herve" Miabey,
Coordinator
coas-av@howard.edu Locke Hall, Room B-44
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6737
Budget Office    
Rosemary Pearson,
Budget Specialist
rpearson@howard.edu Locke Hall, Room 138
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6710
Jacqueline Mc Calop,
Budget Assistant
jmccalop@howard.edu
Nequia Juggins,
Budget Assistant

njuggins@howard.edu

Development    
TBD,
Director
  Howard Center, Suite 928
2225 Georgia Ave, NW
Washington DC, 20059
(202) 238-2518 (Office)
(202) 986-2005 (Fax)
Duplicating Center (Printshop)  
David Austin,
Coordinator
daustin@howard.edu Locke Hall, Room B-19
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6715
Educational Advisory Center  
Alana F. Mohammed, Ph.D.,
Interim Director
alana.f.mohammed@Howard.edu Locke Hall, Suite 110
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6985
Santina Huff,
Administrative Assistant
s_huff@howard.edu
Honors Program    
Daniel Williams, Ph.D.,
Director
dawilliams@howard.edu Locke Hall, Suite 124
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6763
Fax: (202) 667-9569
Traci D. Wyatt,
Secretary
tdwyatt@howard.edu
Preprofessional Educational Center  
Clarence Lee, Ph.D.,
Director
preprofessional
@howard.edu
Howard Center, Room 518
2225 Georgia Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 238-2363
Fax: (202) 588-9828
Julie Andrist,
Assistant Coordinator/ Preprofessional Advisor
jandrist@howard.edu
Cheryl Mafuz, Secretary

cmafuz@howard.edu
Recruitment    
Alveta Addison,
Director
aladdison@howard.edu Locke Hall, Suite 114
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-7360
Student Affairs    
Alveta Addison,
Interim Director
aladdison@howard.edu Locke Hall, Suite 114
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-7360
Information Technology  
Anteneh Girma,
Director
agirma@howard.edu Locke Hall, Room 134
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-4454
Webmaster    
Miriam Ahmed,
Webmaster
mahmed@howard.edu Locke Hall, Suite 101
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Office: (202) 806-6700
   
African Studies    

Mbye Cham, Ph.D.,
C
hair

mcham@howard.edu Howard Center, Room 416
2225 Georgia Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 238-2363
Fax: (202) 238-2328
Oni Sarah Spratt,
Administrative Assistant
 
Afro-American Studies  
Greg Carr, Ph.D.,
C
hair
gcarr@howard.edu Founders Library, Room 318
500 Howard Place, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-7242
Fax: (202) 986-0538
Donald-a L. Gaddy,
Administrative Assistant
dgaddy@howard.edu
Joyce Rose, Secretary jrose@howard.edu
Art    
Anthony M. McEachern, Ph.D.,
C
hair
ammceachern@howard.edu Lulu Vere Childers Hall, Room 1025
2455 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-7047
Fax: (202) 806-9258
Sheilah Tucker,
Administrative Assistant
stucker@howard.edu
Biology    
Clarence Lee, Ph.D.,
C
hair
cmlee@howard.edu Ernest Just Hall, Room 126
415 College Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6933
Fax: (202) 806-4564
Traci Davis,
Administrative Assistant
traci.boyd@howard.edu
Leonard Clay,
Office Manager
lclay@howard.edu
Chemistry    
Oladapo Bakare, Ph.D.,
Interim C
hair
obakare@howard.edu Chemistry Building, Room 120
525 College Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6900
Fax: (202) 806-5442
Patricia Crawford,
Administrative Assistant

patricia.crawford@howard.edu
Classics
Carrie Cowherd, Ph.D.,
C
hair
ccowherd@howard.edu Locke Hall, Room 254
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6725
Phyllis Lewis,
Administrative Assistant
plewis@howard.edu
Comprehensive Sciences  
Marjay Anderson, Ph.D.,
C
hair
mdanderson@howard.edu Locke Hall, Room 260
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6744
Fax: (202) 806-5786
Beverly Green
Administrative Assistant III
beverly.green@howard.edu
Economics    
Rodney Green, Ph.D.,
C
hair
rgreen@howard.edu Academic Support Building B, Room 302
2400 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6717
Fax: (202) 806-4896
Gail Pritchett,
Administrative Assistant III
gpritchett@howard.edu
English    
Dana Williams, Ph.D.,
C
hair
d_williams@howard.edu Locke Hall, Room 248
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6730
Fax: (202) 806-6708
Tanya Hardy,
Administrative Assistant
thardy@howard.edu
Terry Smith, Secretary
Health, Human Performance and Leisure Studies
Roberta Hollander, Ph.D.,
C
hair
rhollander@howard.edu Burr Gym, Room 1011
6th & Girard Streets, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-7142
Fax: (202) 806-4894
History    
Edna Greene Medford, Ph.D.,
C
hair
emedford@howard.edu Douglass Hall, Room 316
2419 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6815/9326
Fax: (202) 806-4471
Bessie Hill,
Administrative Assistant
beshill@howard.edu
Mathematics    
Adeniran Adeboye, Ph.D.,
C
hair
aadeboye@howard.edu Academic Support Building B, Room 204
2400 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6830
Fax: (202) 806-6831
Yvonne Prince,
Administrative Assistant
yprince@howard.edu
Marilyn S. Johnson,
Administrative Assistant
Marilyn.s.johnson@howard.edu
Military / Air Force ROTC  
Darryl Terrell, Lt. Col., USAF,
C
hair
darryl.terrell@howard.edu Frederick Douglass Hall,
Room B-29
2419 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6788
Fax: (202) 806-4506
Military / Army ROTC    
Crede J. Lyons, LTC, US Army
C
hair
crede.lyons@howard.edu Frederick Douglass Hall, Room B-2
2419 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6784
Fax: (202) 806-4627
Felicia Morris
Administrative Assistant III
felicia.d.morris@howard.edu  
Sharon Finney,
Recruiting Operations Officer
   
Music    
Anthony Randolph, Ph.D.,
Interim C
hair
awrandolph@howard.edu Lulu Vere Childers Hall, Room 3004
2455 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-7082
Fax: (202) 806-9673
Allisha McKinney  
Shawn G. Hart,
Secretary
shart@howard.edu
Philosophy    
Patrick Goodin, Ph.D.,
C
hair
pgoodin@howard.edu Locke Hall, Room 226
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6811
Fax: (202) 518-3347
Helen Stinney helen.stinney@howard.edu
Physics & Astronomy    
Quinton L. Williams, Ph.D.,
C
hair
quinton.williams@howard.edu Thirkield Hall, Room 105
2355 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6245
Fax: (202) 806-5830
Anne Cooke  
Political Science    
Michael C. Nwanze, Ph.D.,
C
hair
mnwanze@howard.edu Douglass Hall, Room 114
2419 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6720
Fax: (202) 265-3527
Saphronica Drake, Administrative Assistant sdrake@howard.edu
Teresa Bush-Austin, Administrative Assistant tabush@howard.edu
Psychology    
Angela Cole, Ph.D.,
C
hair
apcole@howard.edu C. B. Powell Building, Room N-179
525 Bryant Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6805
Fax: (202) 806-4873
Jacqueline Thomas,
Administrative Assistant
jthomas@howard.edu

Sociology & Anthropology  
Rubin Patterson, Ph.D.,
C
hair
rubin.patterson@howard.edu Douglass Hall, Room 207
2419 Sixth Street, NW
P.O. Box 987
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6853
Fax: (202) 806-4893
Kimberly Mack, Secretary kmmack@howard.edu
Theatre Arts    
Kim James Bey,
C
hair
kbey@howard.edu Lulu Vere Childers Hall, Room 1044
2455 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-7050
Fax: (202) 806-9193
Janet Johnson,
Secretary
jljohnson@howard.edu
World Languages & Cultures  
Vernessa White-Jackson, Ph.D.,
C
hair
vwhite-jackson@howard.edu Locke Hall, Room 350
2441 Sixth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-6758
Brenda Crawford,
Administrative Assistant
bcrawford@howard.edu
Shannon Moore,
Administrative Assistant I
shannon.moore@howard.edu
top    

Important Howard University Contacts

Department Phone Email
Office of Admission / Enrollment Management 202 806-2700 admission@howard.edu
Alumni Relations 202 806-5857 Howardalumni@howard.edu
Athletics 202 806-7141  
Bookstore 202 238-2640 customerservice@hubookstore.com
Campus Police 202 806-1100  
Career Services
(CEDAR Center)
202 806-7513  
Cashier 202 806-2630
202 483-7056 (fax)
rcummings@howard.edu
Chapel 202 806-7280 chapel@howard.edu
Counseling Services 202 806-7513  
Domestic Exchange Program 202 806-2709 wmjones@howard.edu
Emergency Service 202 806-1000  
Escort Program
(Midnight-7:00 am daily)
202 806-1100  
Financial Aid 202 806-2820/2840
202 806-2818 (fax)
finaid@howard.edu
Hilltop 202 806-4749 Hilltopbusiness@howard.edu
Hospital 202 865-6100  
Information Systems and Services 202 806-0660 ilab@howard.edu
Operator (main campus) 202 806-6100  
Post Office 202 806-2009  
Ralph Bunche International Affairs Center (Study Abroad)
202 806-4363 baikens@howard.edu
Residence Life 202 806-6131
202 806-4431 (fax)
residencelife@howard.edu
Special Student Services
(disabled students, veteran affairs and judicial affairs)
202 238-2420 cheath@howard.edu
Student Accounts 202 806-2610
202 806-5279 (fax)
jdavis@howard.edu
Student Activities 202 806-5990  
Student Clubs and Organizations    
Student Financial Services 202 806-2570  
Student Government 202 806-7007  
Student Health Center 202 806-7540  
Telephone Service 202 806-2955  
 
Howard University Howard University - College of Arts and Sciences